A Pakpotpourri Exclusive:

shomuSpread over six volumes- “Nothing But’ is a story of the 20th Century history of India & the Indian Sub Continent in particular, covering the period between 1890 – 2002.

It relates to the story eight Indian families and one British family & their five generations.
 Despite they being from different religions they were once very close friends and comrades and how circumstances beyond their control separated them Some even became each other’s enemies.

The complete book is in 6 parts and its main focus is on the disputed Indian Territory of Jammu and Kashmir – a volatile region that has been in the eye of the storm ever since the Great Game began in the late 19th century and remains the main bone of contention between India and Pakistan ever since the two countries became independent in 1947.


Book One -‘The Awakening’ covers the period 1890-1919 and tells the story of the advent and rise of Indian nationalism through the eyes of these fictional characters and how the Great Game was played and how The Great War (1914-1918) effected the lives of these people.


Book 2 — ‘The Long Road to Freedom’ covers the period 1920-1947 and tells the story about the sacrifices made to attain freedom and how partition came about.


Book  3 — ‘What Price Freedom’ covers the period 1947-1971 and tells the story of the horrors of partition and the 3 major wars that took place between India and Pakistan and which also gave birth to a new nation called Bangladesh.


Book 4 – ‘Love has no Religion’ covers the period 1971-1984. It is a tragic love story of two couples from the fourth generation with different religious and cultural backgrounds and how it affected their lives and those of their countrymen.


Book 5 – ‘All is Fair In Love and War ‘ covers the period 1984-1994 and tells us about the rise of communal, religious and regional politics in the subcontinent and corruption in politics together with the rise of fanatical religious organizations throughout the world in general and the subcontinent in particular .


Book 6  ‘Farewell My Love” covers the period 1994 – 2002 tells the story of the people from the 4th and 5th generation of these families and how the rise of militancy, terrorism and  selfish coalition politics  affected their lives and those of the people on the streets.

Sheduled for release in March – April 2014 & will be launched simultaneously in  major metropolitan cities of India. 
(We in Pakistan look forward to having it made available here too)

Major Satish Khanna


Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.


  • Naushad Shafkat  On January 19, 2014 at 2:48 am

    I too wish that it is available in Pakistan and I am sure it will be. Should be fascinating to read as it is 6 volumes covering about a hundred years only. The picture above is heartening; seems to be a Shia Muharram procession but one can spot many Hindus too.

  • naveed tajammal  On January 19, 2014 at 5:31 am

    The issue of the struggle & the rise of people of Kashmir-starts with the Sikh inroads-Early 19th century-hence to do justice to main theme-as stated by the author-That’ it is the story of a dispute,it should have started much earlier-then 1890.

  • Shomu(Sameer)Bhattachariya  On January 19, 2014 at 1:59 pm

    Yasmeen thank you so very much and i will make all efforts to make it available to the book lovers in Paklstan
    warm regards

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: